Extension Authorizing Board of Reviews in each City Click Here to Read More 

Corona Virus CoVid 19 Update

United States Flag logo

Welcome to Howard County, Iowa

Howard County Iowa  - Election Information

Elections Information in Howard County

  • Howard_Election.jpg

Special Election for Lime Springs City Council Member

 For Lime Springs City Special Elections Results Click Here 


 Main Election Information

2020 General Election Dates

October 5, 2020:  First day for Absentee ballots to be mailed out or voted in the Auditor’s Office

October 19, 2020: Mailed voter registration forms which are postmarked on or before today are considered on time to be pre-registered for the general election even if they are received after today.

October 24, 2020:  Last day to pre-register to vote, in person, by mail or at the driver’s license.

October 24, 2020:  Last day to request an absentee ballot be mailed

October 24, 2020: Auditor’s office is open 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

October 30, 2020: Auditor’s office must be open until 5:00 p.m., last day to submit written challenges to absentee voters

October 31, 2020:  Auditor’s office is open 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. for absentee voting

November 2, 2020: Last day to vote in person at the Auditor’s Office. Auditor’s Office will be open until 5:00 p.m.

November 3, 2020:  Polls are open from 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.


This is the main election information page.

For additional Election information we recommend that you visit the Secretary of States website and look under Elections. 

We have broken elections into five (5) categories for ease of use. The categories are

Primary Elections
General Elections
City/School Elections
Special Elections

The following links provide information to help young voters navigate the often confusing registration process:

Click Here to View - Top 5 Reasons to Vote

For any Election related questions -  Please contact the Howard County Auditor's office

Howard County Courthouse

137 North Elm Street

Cresco IA 52136

Monday - Friday 8:00am - 4:30pm
Phone Number: 
(563) 547-9203
Fax Number:
 (563) 547-9229

County Auditor: Julie Chapman
First Deputy: Amy Retterath

For all past Election Dates ( Sorted by Year ) and Types

Three Year Election Calendar

From the Iowa Secretary of State's (SOS) website Click on the Link Below