Extension Authorizing Board of Reviews in each City Click Here to Read More 

Corona Virus CoVid 19 Update

United States Flag logo

Welcome to Howard County, Iowa

Howard County Iowa - Board of Supervisors 

Boards & Commissions

  • Howard_Courthouse.jpg



About Howard County Board of Supervisors

The Board of Supervisors has both legislative and administrative powers and is the policy making body for Howard County government with its authority to adopt legislation and policies for department operations, the Board sets priorities, allocates resources, and maintains budgetary control.

The Budget Process is the most Important Power of the Board.

 The duties of the Board of Supervisors can be found throughout chapter 331 in the Code of Iowa learn More

 Regular sessions of the Board of Supervisors are held at 9:00 a.m. on Monday mornings. 

Boards and Commissions Served on Include: 

 Turkey River Watershed Infrastructure - Jerry Steven 

 Northeast Iowa Community Action  - Joe Pisney

 Northeast Iowa Behavioral Mental Health  - Pat Murray

 1st Judicial Dpt of Corrections Pat Murray. Joe Pisney, Alternate

 North Iowa Juvenile Detention -  Pat Murray. Joe Pisney, Alternate

 Upper Explorerland Regional Planning  Jerry Steven. Joe  Pisney, Alternate.

 Regional Transportation Policy Board - Jerry Steven. Joe Pisney, Alternate.

 Emergency Management  - Joe Pisney

 HAWC Empowerment - Joe Pisney

 RC&D - Pat Murray       

 Regional Transportation Advisory -  Joe Pisney. Jerry Steven, Alternate.

 Northeast Iowa - 3 A -  Pat Murray

 Howard County Board of Trustees Liaison - Pat Murray

 Empowerment Executive Board/ Empowerment Team - Joe Pisney

 Hazmat Board - Jerry Steven

 CIDC Board - Pat Murray,  Liaison

 Upper Explorerland Executive Board -  Pat Murray

 Revolving Loan Fund-Upper Explorerland - Pat Murray

 Wapsi Trail Board -   Jerry Steven. Pat Murray and Joe Pisney, Alternates.

 North East Iowa Regional Housing  Trust Fund Board - Joe Pisney

 Housing Inc. - Joe Pisney

 Howard County Economic Development - Pat Murray

 County Housing Trust Fund -  Joe Pisney

 Regional Housing Authority Board -  Joe Pisney

 Turkey River Watershed Authority -  Jerry Steven. Joe Pisney, Alternate.

 Upper Iowa Watershed -  Joe Pisney, Pat Murray, Alternate.

 Turkey River Authority Board -  Jerry Steven. Joe Pisney, Alternate.

 Wapsi River Watershed Authority  -  Jerry Steven. Pat Murray, Alternate.

 County Social Services -   Pat Murray. Jerry Steven, Alternate.

 Howard County Board of Health -   Pat Murray

 Region 1 Iowa Workforce Investment Board Elkader - Jerry Steven     

District(1): Pat Murray
531 3th Ave E Cresco, 
IA 52136

Phone number: (319) 240-9433
Term Ends January 1, 2021

District (2): Joe Pisney
16532 10
th Street Lime Springs, IA 52155
Phone number:
(563) 203-1407
Term Ends January 1, 2023

District (3): Jerry Steven
223 Busti Avenue Elma, IA 50628
Phone number:
(319) 240-6575
Term Ends January 1, 2023

Howard County Board of Supervisor's Contact

Howard County Courthouse
137 North Elm Street

Cresco Iowa 52136

Monday mornings - 9:00am
Phone number: 
(563) 547-9204
Fax number: (563) 547-9229

District (1) supervisor: Pat Murray

District (2) supervisor: Joe Pisney

District (3) supervisor: Jerry Steven